Monday, 6 February 2017

Butterfly Facts

Butterfly Facts

- Butterflies are insects.

- They have 3 body parts - Head, Thorax and Abdomen.

- They have 4 wings and 6 legs attached to the Thorax.

- They have scales on their wings.

- The lifecycle of a butterfly can be divided into 4 parts - Egg, Larva (Caterpillar), Pupa (Chrysalis) and Butterfly. The change from caterpillar to butterfly is called metamorphosis. The 4 parts take about 4 weeks.

Printable Worksheet : Fill the blanks with stages of lifecycle of a butterfly.

- Caterpillars eat plant parts and are herbivores. The first meal however is its own eggshell as they are very hungry when they come out of the egg.

- Butterflies feed on nectar from flowers. It has straw-like tongue, or proboscis to sip the nectar. 

- Female butterflies are usually larger than males and they live longer.

- Butterflies can live anywhere from 2 days to a year depending on the species.

- There are more than 20000 species of butterflies in this world.

Take the Quiz:

Butterfly Quiz

No comments:

Post a Comment