Monday, 29 June 2015


Diwali or Deepavali is the festival of lights. It is celebrated on the no moon day of the month of Karthik.

On this day, Ram along with his wife Sita had returned to Ayodhya after winning a war over Ravana. Since this was a no moon day, people lit lamps all over the place to show them the way. Since then this day is celebrated with lights. It is also considered that Goddess Lakshmi enters the house where it is brightly illuminated.

People start the festivities a few days before the festival. They clean the houses and prepare lots of sweets. All dress up in new clothes on this day to light lamps and firecrackers. The celebrations go on for 5 days. Each day has its own significance.

Day 1- Dhanteras or Dhanatrayodashi. On this day something new for the house is purchased. In the night Lord Yama (God of Death) is worshiped by lighting a lamp and offer prayers to him.

Day 2: Narak Chaturdashi. On this day Lord Krishna had killed the demon Narakasura. It is a tradition to massage with scented oil and take a head bath.

Day 3: Lakshmi Puja. In the evening Goddess Lakshmi is worshiped. Houses are brightly illuminated and doors are kept open so that Lakshmi can enter the homes.

Day 4: Padwa or New Year. In North India, this day marks the start of the new year.

Day 5: Bhai Dooj or Bhaubeej. This day is similar to Raksha Bandhan. The day symbolizes the bond between brothers and sisters. Sisters perform Aarti to their brothers and prepare lots of sweets for them. This day marks the end of the festival.

No comments:

Post a Comment